The Donut Whole » Best Vegan Options at Dunkin’ Donuts (2022)

Best Vegan Options at Dunkin’ Donuts (2022)

Looking for vegan Dunkin’ Donuts? You’re in luck! The popular donut chain now offers a vegan menu with plenty of tasty options.

From strawberry to raspberry to espresso, there’s something for everyone. And if you’re looking for breakfast or lunch, Dunkin’ has you covered with English muffins, vegan bagels, sandwiches, and lattes. So whether you’re vegan or just looking for some delicious plant-based options, Dunkin’ is the place to go!

About Dunkin’ Donuts

Dunkin' Donuts
Image Credit: secretlosangeles

Dunkin’ Donuts is an American global donut company and coffeehouse chain. It was founded by William Rosenburg in 1948 in Quincy, Massachusetts, under the name “Open Kettle.” Two years later, he changed the name to “Dunkin’ Donuts,” which alluded to his goal of providing the world with the freshest donuts and coffee available.

It became a franchise in 1955, and it grew rapidly. Currently, Dunkin’ Donuts operates in more than 12,000 locations worldwide in 45 countries–which means more and more people are running on Dunkin’, just like their slogan says.

The company offers around 18 different types of donuts, as well as a wide variety of breakfast and lunch items. But what it’s really starting to sell more of are its beverages! So much so, in 2019, they dropped “Donuts” from their name to become simply “Dunkin’.”

They felt the change would allow them to become more relevant to future customers, and as they move toward selling more drinks than donuts.

Keeping with the theme of relevancy, Dunkin’ Donuts announced a sustainability plan, proclaiming that it would be vegan-friendly. Since about 2019, they have been introducing a number of vegan options into their menu at Dunkin’ locations across the country.

Dunkin’ Donuts Vegan Menu

Interestingly, Dunkin’ Donut’s vegan menu does not include any vegan donuts. But it does include a wide variety of other plant-based items, such as vegan breakfast options, as well as vegan beverages like iced coffee, iced tea, and more.

Let’s look at the variety they have to offer on their menu:

Vegan Dunkin’ Donuts Food Options

Vegan Dunkin' Donuts Food Options
Image Credit: letseatcake

Dunkin’ Donuts has several vegan food options available. Here are a few items from their vegan breakfast selection:

  • Avocado Toast
  • Avocado & Roasted Tomato Toast
  • Hummus Toast
  • Hummus & Roasted Tomato Toast
  • Hash Browns
  • English Muffin
  • Bagels
  • Breakfast Sandwich
  • Quaker Oatmeal with Dried Fruit

The Avocado & Roasted Tomato Toast is simply avocado spread, roasted tomatoes, and some “everything” bagel topping, all on top of sourdough bread. The Hummus & Roasted Tomato Toast is very similar: hummus and roasted tomatoes atop a slice of sourdough bread.

Their breakfast sandwich includes a vegan sausage patty, egg, and cheese on an English muffin, so if you want a breakfast sandwich that is truly vegan, then you will want to order it without the egg and cheese.

The bagels come in several flavors, too:

  • Plain
  • Cinnamon Raisin
  • Multigrain
  • Everything
  • Sesame

A few notes about the vegan bagels and toast–if you have allergies, there is a possibility that cross-contamination could happen during the manufacturing. And be sure to not order cream cheese as a topping, since it is not dairy-free.

Vegan Dunkin’ Donuts Coffee Options

Vegan Dunkin' Donuts Coffee Options
Image Credit: clickorlando

There are a number of vegan beverages available at Dunkin’ Donuts, both coffee-based and non-coffee based.

The coffee-based beverages include:

  • Dripped Coffee (Original Blend, Dunkin’ Decaf, Dark Roast)
  • Latte (hot or iced)
  • Americano (hot or iced)
  • Macchiato (hot or iced)
  • Cappuccino (hot or iced)
  • Espresso
  • Cold Brew
  • Turbo Shot (extra espresso)

Let’s look a little closer at the cold brew and frozen options. There are actually several kinds to order! Here are some:

  • Dunkin Brown Sugar Cold Brew
  • Vanilla Almond Cold Brew.
  • Blueberry Oat Cold Brew
  • Frozen Coffee
  • Mocha Swirl Frozen Coffee

While ordering vegan coffee options at Dunkin’ Donut is fairly easy, there are a couple of tips to remember.

The first is to ask for no foam on any of your cold brew coffees, as that contains dairy. Similarly, the second thing is to ask for no whipped cream on any of your frozen coffee drinks. Thirdly, if you want a truly vegan coffee, remember to always ask for dairy-free milk and flavor shots.

Other Vegan Dunkin’ Donuts Beverage Options

Other Vegan Dunkin' Donuts Beverage Options
Image Credit: chooseveg

The vegan non-coffee based beverages include several teas and fruit drinks.

Here are their vegan teas that can be served cold:

  • Iced Tea (sweetened or unsweetened)
  • Iced Green Tea (sweetened or unsweetened)
  • Matcha Latte (hot, cold, or frozen)
  • Chai Latte (hot, iced, or frozen)

Here are their vegan teas that can be served hot:

  • Harmony Leaf Green Tea
  • Cool MintHerbal Infusion
  • Chamomile FieldsHerbal Infusion
  • Hibiscus Kiss Herbal Infusion
  • Bold Breakfast Black
  • Decaf Breakfast Black

Here are all the vegan Coolattas and Dunkin’ refreshers that are fruit-flavored:

  • Blueberry Frozen Coolatta
  • Strawberry Frozen Coolatta
  • Strawberry Dragonfruit Refresher
  • Strawberry Dragonfruit Coconut Refresher
  • Strawberry Dragonfruit Lemonade Refresher
  • Peach Passion Fruit Refresher
  • Peach Passion Fruit Coconut Refresher
  • Peach Passion Fruit Lemonade Refresher

There are a couple of tips to remember when you order vegan teas or fruit drinks. First, with both of the iced tea beverages, you can add blueberry and raspberry flavoring if you’d like. And second, remember to ask for dairy-free milk if you order a latte.

Vegan Dunkin’ Donuts Dairy-Free Milk and Flavors Options

Vegan Dunkin' Donuts Dairy-Free Milk and Flavors Options
Image Credit: womenshealthmag

Dunkin’ Donuts vegan menu offers a few different dairy-free milk options. You can use these kinds of milk in any of the vegan beverages or breakfast items.

They include:

  • Oat Milk
  • Almond milk
  • Coconut milk

Their menu also offers vegan flavor shots, which you can use in coffee, cold brew, or latte drinks.

They include:

  • Caramel Flavored Syrup
  • Brown Sugar Cinnamon Flavored Syrup
  • Vanilla Flavored Syrup
  • Chai Tea Flavored Syrup
  • Blueberry Flavored Syrup
  • Raspberry Flavored Syrup
  • Toasted Almond Flavored Syrup
  • Mocha Swirl

It’s important to note that Mocha Swirl is the only swirl flavor that is dairy free. None of the rest would be considered vegan.

Tips for Ordering Vegan at Dunkin’ Donuts

When ordering vegan at Dunkin’ Donuts, be sure to specify that you would like the vegan version of the menu item. For example, when ordering an iced coffee, specify that you would like it made with oat milk and cold brew coffee.

Also, keep in mind that some menu items are only available regionally. So if you’re looking for something specific, be sure to check with your local Dunkin’ Donuts to see if they offer it.

And of course, it’s helpful to remember that there may still be some cross-contamination during manufacturing, so if you have allergies, you’ll want to act accordingly.

Frequently Asked Questions about Vegan Dunkin’ Donuts

Now that you know all about the vegan menu at Dunkin’ Donuts, let’s answer a few of the most common frequently asked questions. You may just find the answer to something you’ve been wondering!

Vegan Dunkin' Donuts
Image Credit: vegnews

Is the Egg White at Dunkin’ Donuts Vegan?

No, the egg white at Dunkin’ Donuts, such as the one in their breakfast sandwich, is not vegan. It contains egg and enzymes. If you are wanting to eat vegan, you can request that your bagel or sandwich be made without the egg white.

Is Dunkin’s Peanut Butter Cup Macchiato Vegan?

Actually, no, it isn’t. Peanut Butter Cup Swirl Syrup, which is one of the main ingredients in this drink, contains dairy. And it’s not as simple as replacing it with a different syrup. This particular swirl is the whole reason this macchiato is considered a peanut butter drink. But if you don’t desire to consume dairy, the you will want to order a different drink.

Is the Hot Chocolate Vegan?

No, the Hot Chocolate at Dunkin’ Donuts is not vegan, and neither is the Vanilla Spice. It contains dairy and cannot be made dairy free. Keep this in mind as you order your beverages.

What is Dunkin’s Bagel’s Dough Conditioner Made Of?

The dough conditioner in the Dunkin’ Donut bagels consists of malted barley flour, enzymes, and dextrose–unlike being made of L. Cysteine like most conditioners are (which, according to Bakerpedia, is made of some pretty crazy stuff).

What is Dunkin’ Donuts’ Definition of Vegan?

The way Dunkin’ Donut described Vegan a few years ago is that it’s a food or beverage that contains no animal sources. Animal sources would include meat, fish, shellfish, egg, milk, and honey products. Also, Dunkin’ Donut’s vegan definition includes no enzymes or rennet from animal sources.

And as always, it’s important to remember that there is a chance of cross-contamination since everything is made in the same factory. Use your best judgment, concerning your beliefs and nutritional needs as you consider eating off of Dunkin’ Donut’s vegan menu.

Conclusion

There you have it! The vegan menu from America’s favorite donut and coffee shop, Dunkin’ Donuts.

So whether you’re vegan or just looking for some delicious plant-based options, Dunkin’ Donuts is the place to go! With a wide variety breakfast items, lunch options, and beverages available, there’s something for everyone at Dunkin’. So what are you waiting for? Head to your nearest Dunkin’ location and try something vegan today!

Do you have a favorite vegan Dunkin’ Donuts menu item? Let us know in the comments below.

Leave a Comment