The Donut Whole » Gluten-Free Food At Dunkin Donuts ( Updated 2022)

Gluten-Free Food At Dunkin Donuts ( Updated 2022)

It’s no secret that Dunkin Donuts has a unique menu that you can optimize to your needs. That being said, both omnivores and vegans can enjoy flavorful products without having to give anything up. But, did you know that people with celiac disease and those with non-celiac gluten sensitivity can also enjoy the mouth-watering Dunkin Donuts treats and beverages? That’s because Dunkin Donuts has plentiful products that don’t have any wheat or gluten for that matter. In this article, we’ll explore which products you can try out worry-free.

The History of Gluten-Free Food

The History of Gluten-Free Food

Gluten intolerance nor diseases that are affected by wheat flour or barley gluten haven’t been treated properly until after World War II, which not only caused destruction and death but also the lack of food supplies and food in general.

Adults and children both were fighting the food struggles and easily became malnourished, as they couldn’t access the vegetables and fruits which were packed with necessary vitamins. Unsurprisingly, the wheat was lacking too.

People who had celiac disease couldn’t access food that was rich in gluten like wheat and pastries made with wheat, so they surprisingly felt stronger and started recovering. Dutch pediatrician called Dr. Willem-Karel Dickel noticed this strange correlation between the children before the war and children during the war.

The mortality rate of celiac disease was more than 30% at the time before the war, and there was an odd drop in the mortality rate during the war. Doctors knew that celiac disease affected younger children but the mortality rate was 0% during the war.

During the war, bakers made flour and bread with potato starch instead of wheat, which led to gluten-free products. Dice published a paper where he details his observation of the patients who consumed gluten-free diets back in 1941.

That’s how doctors later linked gluten to all the celiac disease symptoms such as diarrhea, constipation, stomach cramps, bloating, and others. That allowed them to develop dietary restrictions and change the diets of people who are sensitive to gluten.

Gluten-Free Menu at Dunkin Donuts

1. Gluten-Free Food at Dunkin Donuts

  •  Hash Browns (130 calories)

Hash browns are one of the most popular treats made for people who have celiac disease and can’t eat wheat. Although many people think they’re made out of flour, it’s worth noting that they are made out of potatoes and dehydrated potatoes.

Sometimes, they’re made with some additional ingredients which may contain wheat gluten in them, which is why it’s important to note to the Dunkin Donuts employee that you can’t eat gluten-rich food. Hash browns are a popular treat enriched with different spices that add up to their flavor, but it’s always better to be careful than sorry later.

  • Snackin’ Bacon (190)

Bacon is one of the most popular ingredients made for burgers and a treat many people who shop at Dunkin Donuts return to. Given it’s mainly made with pork or some other animal, bacon shouldn’t contain gluten.

However, some restaurants serve bacon with different spices and ingredients that may have gluten. Luckily enough, you can rest assured that the Dunkin Donuts bacon is 100% gluten-free, and doesn’t have any of the gluten additions in the meal.

It’s great with some other popular Dunkin Donut products, as long as you can ensure that they don’t have gluten in them. Some other products are seasonally available with gluten-free options. At the time of writing this article, they’re not available.

2. Gluten-Free Beverages at Dunkin Donuts

Gluten-Free Beverages at Dunkin Donuts

  •  Americano (10 calories)

The calorie count may differ if you’re taking one of the options  – small, medium, or large, but they’ll all vary around 10 calories. Americano is a popular option as an everyday breakfast addition that can wake you up. It doesn’t have any fat and minimal carbs.

Needless to say, it’s a great way to start your day. You can also add some flavor shots such as caramel or vanilla. There are plenty of gluten-free flavor shots to add, we’ll list more of them below in the article. With 284mg of caffeine, it’s enough energizing to keep you alert for hours.

If you’re a fan of cold coffee, you can try the cold brew and add some chocolate along with a good egg-rich breakfast, as long as it’s out of allergens.

  • Latte (170 calories)

In a great matter, a latte is similar to Americano, except that there’s an addition of milk. If you’re not lactose-intolerant, you can easily enjoy your favorite espresso shot with cow milk and some added flavor shot. Nevertheless, if you’re allergic to lactose or vegan, you can enjoy some of the dairy-free options like coconut, almond, or soy milk.

One medium portion of latte coffee contains 170 calories and about 13 grams of sugar. There’s a total of 166mg of caffeine, which is sort of less compared to Americano coffee, but it’s great to start your day, or even act as a booster of energy on a lunch break.

If you’re trying latte, don’t forget to try dunkaccino when it’s available!

  • Macchiato (120 calories)
macchiato at dunkin donuts
Image Credit: theimpulsivebuy

Many people call Macchiato a comfort coffee, that sort that you drink when you go out with friends or want to relax on a cozy, rainy day while enjoying your favorite movie or a TV show. On hot summer days, an iced macchiato is a life-saver.

Some people call it reverse latte, or latte macchiato because it’s quite similar to the latte recipe. For this flavor, the bartender will make a coffee using espresso and milk of your choice. However, the milk comes first, and then the coffee is added.

It’s still quite strong for some people, and people prefer having it with whole milk that is denser compared to dairy-free milk. It looks aesthetically pleasing, so it’s popular on Pinterest and Instagram shots.

It’s worth mentioning that Macchiato tastes great with added flavors like vanilla and caramel swirl. Decaf macchiato can also refresh you if you want to drink decaffeinated coffee.

  • Caramel Craze Signature Iced Latte (410 calories)

Frozen coffees were always a popular thing at Dunkin’ Donuts, and a true refresher next to iced tea. If you’re a fan of iced coffee as well as a fan of latte, you will love it with the Caramel Craze bland. It’s a signature Dunkin’ beverage, so expect to find whipped cream as well as other different toppings combined with espresso and milk.

Still, be mindful with these, they contain a lot of sugar and can be a sugar bomb for some people, especially if you add the Caramel Craze flavor. That being said, depending on the size of the coffee you grab, as well as added flavors, it may have more calories or fewer.

  • Iced Chai Latte (290 calories)
Iced Chai Latte
Image Credit: yahoo

Whether you’re starting your day, or just picking up some nice beverage after work, you can never go wrong with Iced Chai Latte or some other frozen drinks. It combines black tea as well as spices like cinnamon and ginger. It’s usually sweetened additionally with some added milk.

If you grab a medium Iced Chai Latte, you’re going to take 290 calories, or even more if you’re grabbing the larger option and adding up some ingredients like the whipped cream. Alternatively, you can try some green tea or try vanilla chais.

3. Gluten-Free Flavor Shots at Dunkin Donuts

Below are some popular gluten-free flavor shots that you can get with Dunkin Donuts beverages:

  • French Vanilla
  • Hazelnut
  • Caramel
  • Toasted almond
  • Blueberry
  • Raspberry
  • Coconut
  • Pumpkin

 Are  Hash Browns Gluten-Free At Dunkin Donuts?

Yes, the hash browns are gluten-free. They are made of potatoes. It’s worth mentioning that it’s important to tell the Dunkin Donuts employee that you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance, in case there is cross-contamination between gluten-free food and other foods at Dunkin Donuts.

All the ingredients of the hash browns are gluten-free, but it’s always worth checking to be on the safe side.

Does Dunkin Donuts Still Have Gluten-Free Brownies?

Dunkin Donuts gluten-free smudge brownie was considered one of the best things since sliced bread at Dunkin Donuts. Unfortunately, the company has a terrible habit of adding and removing foods from its original menu. People usually eat breakfast sandwiches, but they’re sadly not gluten-free.

While this popular, mouth-watering brownie that soothed the sugar cravings of many people who are allergic to gluten kept coming on and off the menu, at the moment, it’s not on the menu of Dunkin Donuts, at the time of writing this article.

Nevertheless, we hope that Dunkin Donuts will reconsider putting it back on, as there are several petitions of people who want to bring it back. It’s also a good snack for those lactose-intolerant vegans because it doesn’t have any dairy ingredients.

Conclusion

Although the gluten-free meals at Dunkin Donuts come and go, there are always some options you’ll get to savor and enjoy. The selection of beverages at Dunkin Donuts is considerably larger compared to the meals served there, and the best part is that you can enjoy some of the secret menu gluten-free variants if you consult with the Dunkin Donut employee in case of cross-contamination. Along with gluten, always make sure to avoid other ingredients that you’re allergic to like tree nuts, peanuts, and even shellfish. What’s your favorite Dunkin Donuts gluten-free food?

FAQ:

1. Is Dunkin Donuts Bacon Gluten-Free?

Yes, the Dunkin donuts bacon doesn’t contain gluten. The bacon is made out of pork, which is important to consider when eating bacon. Nevertheless, the snackin’ bacon that Dunkin Donuts sells doesn’t contain any gluten.

2. Why Doesn’t Dunkin Donuts Have Gluten-Free Donuts?

Getting to eat cool gluten-free snacks at Dunkin Donuts and savor different beverages without worrying about bloating up or having cramps is great. Nevertheless, Dunkin Donuts’ gluten-free menu still feels like it doesn’t deliver all the expectations of people with celiac disease.

While there is plenty of gluten-free beverages like coffee drinks, there are no donuts. Let’s be honest, Dunkin Donuts is all about tasty, cool-decorated donuts and other pastries. Still, it’s hard to meet the production demands because of the risk of cross-contamination of gluten and gluten-free pastry.

It’s not enough for gluten-free donuts not to contain gluten-containing wheat, it also needs to be baked separately from the other donuts to avoid the risk of cross-contamination. Most Dunkin Donuts locations can’t provide donuts with zero risk of cross-contamination, which is why there are no gluten-free donuts at Dunkin’ Donuts shops.

Leave a Comment