Who won World Cup most times in cricket?

The ICC Cricket World Cup is the premier international championship of men’s One Day International (ODI) cricket. Organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC), the tournament has been held every four years since 1975. Here is a quick overview of which countries have won the Cricket World Cup the most times:

Quick Answer

Australia has won the Cricket World Cup 5 times, the most of any country. West Indies and India have each won 2 World Cups. Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England have each won 1 World Cup.

Cricket World Cup History

The first Cricket World Cup was held in 1975 in England. Since then, there have been 12 editions of the tournament. Here is the list of Cricket World Cup winners by year:

Year Host Country Winner
1975 England West Indies
1979 England West Indies
1983 England India
1987 India, Pakistan Australia
1992 Australia, New Zealand Pakistan
1996 Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
1999 England, Wales, Scotland, Ireland, Netherlands Australia
2003 South Africa, Zimbabwe, Kenya Australia
2007 West Indies Australia
2011 India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh India
2015 Australia, New Zealand Australia
2019 England, Wales England

As the table shows, Australia has won 5 World Cup titles, the most of any country. The West Indies and India have each won 2 titles. Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England have won 1 title apiece.

Australia’s World Cup Dominance

Australia’s first World Cup win came in 1987 when it defeated England by 7 runs in the finals in Kolkata, India. Since then, Australia has established itself as the dominant force in One Day International cricket and the premier World Cup team.

Key reasons for Australia’s success:

  • Consistent batting performances from a strong top order
  • World class bowlers like Glenn McGrath and Shane Warne
  • Brilliant fielding and catching
  • Innovative captains like Allan Border, Steve Waugh, Ricky Ponting
  • A winning culture and mental strength

Australia won the World Cup again on home soil in 1999, defeating Pakistan comprehensively in the final. The Australian juggernaut continued into the 2000s. Under captain Ricky Ponting, Australia won 3 straight World Cups in 2003, 2007 and 2015.

Australia’s record in Cricket World Cup finals is 5-0. They have won all their finals in dominant fashion:

Year Final Opponent Result
1987 England Won by 7 runs
1999 Pakistan Won by 8 wickets
2003 India Won by 125 runs
2007 Sri Lanka Won by 53 runs
2015 New Zealand Won by 7 wickets

Given their unmatched success in the Cricket World Cup over the decades, Australia clearly stands out as the team that has dominated the tournament and won the title most frequently.

West Indies – The First Dominant Team

While Australia has 5 titles, the West Indies were the dominant force in the early years of World Cup cricket. The West Indies won the first two editions of the World Cup in 1975 and 1979.

The West Indies team of the 1970s and 1980s was loaded with incredible talent including batsmen like Viv Richards, Clive Lloyd and Gordon Greenidge as well as bowlers such as Michael Holding, Joel Garner and Malcolm Marshall. This West Indies squad is considered one of the greatest ODI teams of all time.

The West Indies defeated Australia by 17 runs in the 1975 final at Lord’s to become the inaugural World Cup champions. They defended their title in 1979 defeating England in the final.

However, since then the West Indies have struggled to replicate that success. Their last World Cup win came way back in 1979. The West Indies have reached the finals only once since then in 2016 when they lost to India.

India – 2 Time World Cup Winners

India has won the Cricket World Cup 2 times – in 1983 and 2011. India is the only team after West Indies to have won the World Cup more than once.

India caused a huge upset by winning their first World Cup in 1983. Going into the tournament as clear underdogs, India beat the mighty West Indies in the final at Lord’s as Kapil Dev led his unfancied team to glory.

It took 28 years for India to win their next World Cup. India finally broke its title drought when it defeated Sri Lanka in the 2011 final at home in Mumbai under the captaincy of MS Dhoni.

India has also finished as runner-up in 2 World Cups – in 2003 to Australia and in 2015 to the same opponents.

England, Pakistan and Sri Lanka Have 1 Title Each

England, Pakistan and Sri Lanka have each won the World Cup once.

Pakistan won their sole title in 1992 under captain Imran Khan, defeating England by 22 runs in the final in Melbourne.

Sri Lanka created history by winning their maiden World Cup in 1996 at home by beating Australia in the final in Lahore.

England finally broke their World Cup drought by lifting the trophy for the first time in 2019. Led by Eoin Morgan, England dramatically defeated New Zealand in the final on boundary count after the match and Super Over were tied.


To summarize, Australia with 5 World Cup titles is the standout leader for winning the Cricket World Cup most times. They have clearly been the most dominant ODI team in World Cup history.

West Indies won the first two World Cups but have struggled since. India is next best with 2 titles while Pakistan, Sri Lanka and England have won 1 each.

Given their unmatched record and performances in cricket’s flagship event, Australia can undoubtedly be considered the greatest World Cup team of all time.

Leave a Comment