What is Breyers non-dairy ice cream made of?

Breyers non-dairy ice cream is made from a variety of plant-based ingredients that allow it to mimic the taste and texture of traditional dairy ice cream, but without using any milk products. The main ingredients used in Breyers non-dairy ice creams include:

Almond Milk

Most flavors of Breyers non-dairy ice cream use almond milk as the primary base ingredient. Almond milk provides the creamy texture of ice cream, while being dairy-free and vegan. Almond milk contains almonds and water which are blended together to create a milk-like beverage. Using almond milk allows Breyers to create a smooth, creamy non-dairy ice cream.

Coconut Oil

Coconut oil is another key ingredient in Breyers non-dairy ice creams. Coconut oil helps replicate the fatty mouthfeel of regular ice cream. It also aids in a creamy consistency and texture. The coconut flavor of the oil pairs well with many of the fruit and chocolate varietals of Breyers non-dairy ice cream.

Cane Sugar

Like traditional ice cream, Breyers non-dairy varieties contain sugar to sweeten the dessert. Cane sugar is used to provide the sweetness that consumers expect in ice cream. Cane sugar has a neutral flavor that works well in both dairy and non-dairy recipes.

Natural Flavors

Natural flavorings like vanilla and cocoa are used to give Breyers non-dairy ice creams their signature taste. Real vanilla bean seeds and cocoa powder provide familiar flavors in the absence of dairy cream and milk. Other natural flavors like strawberry and mint give Breyers non-dairy ice creams authentic fruity and chocolatey flavors.

Guar Gum

A small amount of guar gum, a plant-based thickening agent, is used to give Breyers non-dairy ice cream a smooth, creamy mouthfeel. Guar gum adjusts the consistency of non-dairy milk and helps it mimic the texture of ice cream made with dairy milk and cream.

Vegetable Glycerin

Vegetable glycerin aids in a smooth consistency and texture in Breyers non-dairy ice cream. It helps balance moisture levels and prevent iciness in the finished product. Vegetable glycerin is a plant-based alternative to glycerin derived from animal fats.

Locust Bean Gum

Another plant-based thickener used by Breyers is locust bean gum. Similarly to guar gum, locust bean gum adjusts the consistency of non-dairy ingredients to better replicate a creamy ice cream texture. It stabilizes the ingredients to prevent ice crystals from forming.

Sunflower Lecithin

Sunflower lecithin acts as an emulsifier in Breyers non-dairy ice creams. Lecithin helps blend the ingredients smoothly and uniformly. It also aids in a rich, creamy mouthfeel. Sunflower lecithin is used as a vegan alternative to egg yolks, which traditionally acted as an emulsifier in ice cream recipes.

Natural Colors

To create vibrant flavors like strawberry and chocolate, Breyers uses natural colors from plant-based sources like fruits and vegetables. These natural colors provide aesthetic appeal without artificial dyes. Beta-carotene gives orange sherbet its hue while red cabbage juice lends a pink shade to strawberry ice cream.

Vitamins and Minerals

Breyers non-dairy ice creams are fortified with vitamins and minerals to provide nutrients typically found in dairy products. Vitamin D2, calcium, vitamin B12 and riboflavin (B2) are added to help consumers meet daily nutritional needs from the plant-based dessert.


In summary, the primary ingredients in Breyers non-dairy ice creams include almond milk, coconut oil, cane sugar, natural flavors, vegetable gums, vegetable glycerin, natural colors and added vitamins and minerals. Using this carefully formulated combination of vegan ingredients allows Breyers to produce plant-based ice creams with a remarkably similar taste and texture to traditional dairy ice cream.

Other Key Points on Ingredients in Breyers Non-Dairy Ice Cream

  • No cholesterol or lactose – Since Breyers non-dairy ice creams contain no dairy, they are cholesterol-free and contain no lactose, making them suitable for vegans and the lactose intolerant.
  • Nondairy does not mean nonfat – While non-dairy ice creams skip the cream, they can still contain oils and solid fats like coconut oil for richness.
  • Varying carbohydrate levels – The amount of sugar and other carbs can vary among flavors. Check nutrition labels for carb counts.
  • Allergy friendly – Breyers labels clearly state allergy information and many varieties are peanut, tree nut, soy, gluten and egg free.
  • Kosher certification – Breyers non-dairy ice creams are certified Kosher Pareve, meaning they contain no meat or dairy.
  • GMO free – Breyers uses non-GMO ingredients in its non-dairy frozen desserts.

Nutrition Facts Comparison of Breyers Non-Dairy and Regular Ice Cream

Here is a comparison nutrition facts table for 1/2 cup servings of Breyers non-dairy chocolate and original regular chocolate ice cream:

Nutrition Facts Breyers Non-Dairy Chocolate Breyers Regular Chocolate
Calories 140 140
Total Fat 7g 8g
Saturated Fat 7g 5g
Trans Fat 0g 0g
Cholesterol 0mg 20mg
Sodium 125mg 85mg
Total Carbohydrate 16g 15g
Dietary Fiber 2g 0g
Total Sugars 11g 14g
Added Sugars 0g 14g
Protein 1g 2g

As shown, Breyers non-dairy chocolate contains similar calories and fat compared to the regular chocolate, but has 0mg cholesterol and fewer added sugars. It provides more fiber yet less protein. Sodium content varies slightly.

Ingredient Highlights of Popular Breyers Non-Dairy Flavors

Here are some of the unique ingredients that give popular Breyers non-dairy flavors their taste and appearance:

  • Cookies & Cream – Vanilla extract, chocolate sandwich cookie pieces
  • Mint Chocolate Chip – Natural mint flavor, chocolate chips or chunks
  • Strawberry – Strawberry puree
  • Caramel Pecan – Roasted pecans, caramel sauce
  • Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough – Chocolate chip cookie dough pieces
  • Oreo Cookies & Cream – Oreo cookie pieces
  • Brown Sugar Oatmilk – Oatmilk, brown sugar flavor
  • Snickerdoodle – Cinnamon, ginger

These mix-ins and unique flavors complement the non-dairy bases to create a diverse lineup of creamy, decadent plant-based ice cream options.

Breyers Non-Dairy Production Practices

Breyers non-dairy ice creams are produced in facilities that also process milk and egg ingredients. The production lines are thoroughly cleaned between runs of different products. During production of the non-dairy varieties, all equipment used comes into contact solely with 100% dairy-free ingredients.

Breyers non-dairy ice cream cartons are clearly labeled as “dairy-free” and free of milk, cream, butter, and eggs both on the front and back of packs. The ingredients are listed clearly and any potential allergen cross-contact is called out. Kosher Pareve certification also helps consumers identify Breyers non-dairy products.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Breyers non-dairy ice cream really dairy free?

Yes, Breyers non-dairy ice cream contains absolutely no milk, cream, butter or any other dairy ingredient. It is 100% dairy-free and safe for people with milk allergies or lactose intolerance.

What milk is used in Breyers non-dairy ice cream?

Breyers uses almond milk and oatmilk as the primary non-dairy milks in their dairy-free ice cream recipes. Coconut milk is also used in some varieties.

Is Breyers non-dairy ice cream vegan?

Most flavors of Breyers non-dairy ice cream are certified vegan by Vegan.org. They contain no animal derived ingredients whatsoever, including no eggs.

Is Breyers lactose free ice cream really lactose free?

Yes, Breyers lactose free ice creams are tested to verify they contain less than 1g of lactose per serving. People with lactose intolerance can enjoy them without GI symptoms.

Does Breyers have peanut free ice cream?

Yes, Breyers produces some flavors that are certified peanut-free and safe for people with peanut allergies. Check the allergen statements for each variety.

What makes Breyers non-dairy ice cream so creamy?

Breyers is able to achieve a rich, creamy texture in their non-dairy ice cream through use of ingredients like coconut oil, vegetable glycerin, guar gum and lecithin. These plant-based ingredients help mimic the mouthfeel of ice cream made with dairy cream.

Trying Breyers Non-Dairy Ice Cream

With a knowledge of what ingredients Breyers uses in their non-dairy ice creams, you can choose flavors to try based on your taste preferences and dietary needs. Look for Breyers dairy-free varieties including Oreo Cookies & Cream, Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough, Brown Sugar Oatmilk, and Mint Chocolate Chip for a creamy plant-based frozen treat. Remember to check labels for allergy information if needed. Grab a spoon and enjoy guiltfree, lactose-free bowls of Breyers non-dairy goodness.

Leave a Comment