What are the 5 prayers in order?

The 5 daily prayers, also known as Salah, are obligatory for all Muslims. These prayers are performed at specific times throughout the day and serve as a way to maintain connection with Allah (God). The 5 prayers are an integral part of Muslim faith and worship. They provide spiritual nourishment, instill discipline, and remind believers to orient their lives around the worship of God. In this article, we will explore what the 5 prayers are, their names and timings, the method of performing them, and their significance in Islam.

What are the 5 Daily Prayers?

The 5 daily prayers in Islam are:


The Fajr prayer is performed at dawn before sunrise.


The Dhuhr prayer is performed after midday when the sun has crossed its peak.


The Asr prayer is performed in the late afternoon.


The Maghrib prayer is performed immediately after sunset.


The Isha prayer is performed in the evening after dusk has arrived.

These 5 prayers are obligatory for all practicing Muslims. They were made compulsory during the Prophet Muhammad’s miraculous journey from Mecca to Jerusalem and then to the heavens known as Al-Isra wal-Mi’raj.

When are the 5 Daily Prayers Performed?

Here are the prescribed times for performing the 5 daily prayers:

Prayer Time
Fajr From dawn to sunrise
Dhuhr After midday when the sun has crossed its peak
Asr Late afternoon
Maghrib Immediately after sunset
Isha Late evening after dusk

The exact timings will vary based on geographical location and seasons. Muslims are expected to monitor the movements of the sun in their locality to determine the proper prayer times. In modern times, prayer schedules are often calculated using astronomical formulas and made widely available online or through mobile apps.

How to Perform the Daily Prayers?

Performing Salah involves a ritualized sequence of movements and recitations. Here are the key steps:

1. Make the Intention (Niyyah)

Before starting each prayer, you should make your intention to pray to fulfill your religious obligation sincerely for the sake of Allah. The intention can be made mentally in your heart.

2. Initiate the Prayer by Saying “Allahu Akbar”

Raise your hands to your ears and say “Allahu Akbar” (God is Greatest). This signifies the start of formal prayer.

3. Recite the Opening Chapter of the Quran (Al-Fatiha)

Al-Fatiha is the first chapter of the Quran that acts as an introduction and guiding prayer for believers. Reciting it reaffirms your connection to God.

4. Perform a Sequence of Standing, Bowing, Prostrating, and Sitting Positions

These positions include:

  • Standing upright with hands on chest or by sides
  • Bowing with hands on knees while saying “Subhana Rabbiyal ‘Adheem”
  • Prostrating on the floor with forehead, nose, hands, knees, and feet touching ground
  • Sitting between prostrations

This sequence is done 2-4 times depending on the prayer.

5. Recite Tashahhud and Salutations

While sitting at the end, recite the Tashahhud by testifying the oneness of Allah and the prophecy of Muhammad. Then, salute the prophet and those on your right and left.

6. End the prayer by turning your face to the right saying “Assalamu alaikum wa rahmatullah” and then to the left repeating the same phrase.

This completes one unit, or rakat, of prayer. Depending on the prayer, you may be required to repeat steps 3-6 for additional rakats. The number of obligatory rakats for each prayer are:

  • Fajr – 2 rakats
  • Dhuhr – 4 rakats
  • Asr – 4 rakats
  • Maghrib – 3 rakats
  • Isha – 4 rakats

Significance of the Daily Prayers

Some of the spiritual and social significance of performing the 5 daily prayers include:

Affirmation of Faith

By praying 5 times a day, Muslims continually renew their commitment to Islam. The prayers serve as reminders throughout the day to strive for righteousness and worship God alone.

Inner Peace and Balance

Taking timeouts during the day for spiritual remembrance results in increased focus, discipline, and inner peace. Prayer provides a sacred space for communicating with the Divine.

Unity and Equality

Praying in unison with fellow believers promotes unity, equality, and solidarity. All stand shoulder to shoulder before God.

Interconnectedness with Community

Praying communally multiple times a day increases socialization, bonding, and sense of community and belonging.

Physical Health

The regular physical movements promote general wellness, fitness, flexibility, blood circulation, and overall health.

Life Structure and Routine

Having set prayers periodically throughout the day structures life around spiritual practice and worship. This instills discipline and routine.


The 5 daily prayers – Fajr, Dhuhr, Asr, Maghrib, and Isha – are fundamental to living as a practicing Muslim. They connect believers to God, reinforce faith and values, stimulate inner peace, unify communities, and instill discipline into the daily routine. Muslims see offering these obligatory prayers as a way to seek the pleasure of Allah and grow in spiritual awareness. The timings allow prayer and remembrance of God to permeate throughout the day, during the highs and lows of life. Performing the ritualistic sequence of standing, bowing, prostrating, and sitting postures represents submission to the glory and majesty of the Creator. While the prayers may seem formulaic to some, they provide structure, meaning, transcendence, and hope in the lives of millions of Muslims worldwide.

Leave a Comment