How much Stanley Cups do Montreal have?

The Montreal Canadiens are one of the most successful franchises in NHL history. As an original six team, they have a long and storied past that includes 24 Stanley Cup championships, far more than any other team.

In this article, we will take a close look at the Canadiens’ Stanley Cup wins year by year to see just how much Stanley Cup success the Habs truly have.

The Early Dynasty Years

The Montreal Canadiens hit the ground running when they entered the NHL in 1917, winning their first Stanley Cup in 1916 (before the NHL existed). In 1924, they won their first Stanley Cup as an NHL team.

This kicked off an incredible run of success, as the Canadiens won Stanley Cups in 1924, 1925, 1930, 1931, 1944, 1946, 1953, 1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, and 1960. From 1951 to 1960, they won the Cup an astounding 6 times in 10 seasons.

Key players from these dominant years included Howie Morenz, Aurele Joliat, Toe Blake, Maurice Richard, Doug Harvey, Bernie Geoffrion, Jean Beliveau, and Jacques Plante.

The 1924 Stanley Cup

The Canadiens defeated the Calgary Tigers 2-0 in a best-of-three series to capture their first Stanley Cup as an NHL franchise in 1924. Billy Boucher scored the Cup-winning goal in overtime of game 2 to clinch the championship.

The 1930 Stanley Cup

Montreal defeated the Boston Bruins 2-0 in a best-of-three series in 1930. George Hainsworth recorded back-to-back shutouts in games 1 and 2 for the Canadiens.

The 1931 Stanley Cup

The Canadiens completed a three-peat by defeating the Chicago Black Hawks 3-2 in a best-of-five series in 1931. The Canadiens fell behind 2-1 in the series before storming back with wins in games 4 and 5 to clinch the Cup.

The Late Dynasty Years

After winning 5 straight Stanley Cups from 1956 to 1960, the Canadiens endured a bit of a Cup drought (by their standards). But they bounced back in flying colors in the late 1960s.

From 1965 to 1979, the Canadiens won the Stanley Cup 10 times in 15 seasons. This included 4 straight championships from 1976-1979, cementing the Canadiens as the undisputed team of the decade.

Hall of Famers like Jean Beliveau, Henri Richard, Guy Lafleur, Larry Robinson, Ken Dryden, and coach Scotty Bowman were at the core of this memorable run.

The 1965 Stanley Cup

The Canadiens defeated the Chicago Blackhawks 4-3 in a best-of-seven series in 1965. Jean Beliveau scored the game-winning goal in double overtime of game 7 to lift Montreal to the championship.

The 1966 Stanley Cup

Montreal swept the Detroit Red Wings 4-0 in the 1966 final. Henri Richard led the team in playoff scoring as the Canadiens dominated the Wings.

The 1968 Stanley Cup

The Canadiens beat the St. Louis Blues 4-0 in the 1968 final to capture another championship. This was the final Stanley Cup under legendary coach Toe Blake.

The 1969 Stanley Cup

Montreal defeated the Blues again 4-0 in the 1969 final to win their second straight championship under new coach Claude Ruel. Rogie Vachon was stellar in net, allowing just 3 goals against in the entire series.

The Dryden Dynasty

When Ken Dryden came on the scene, he backstopped the Canadiens to six Stanley Cups in the 1970s. Montreal established a dynasty that secured their spot at the top of the hockey world.

With Dryden between the pipes, the Canadiens won it all in 1971, 1973, 1976, 1977, 1978, and 1979. This included the famous run of four consecutive Cups, a feat that no team has matched since.

Forwards like Guy Lafleur, Steve Shutt, Jacques Lemaire, and Bob Gainey provided plenty of goal scoring, while defenders like Larry Robinson, Guy Lapointe, and Serge Savard led the Habs defense. Scotty Bowman pushed the right buttons as coach.

The 1971 Stanley Cup

The Canadiens defeated the Chicago Blackhawks 4-3 in the 1971 final. Henri Richard scored the overtime Cup-winner in game 7 to propel Montreal to the championship in Dryden’s rookie season.

The 1976 Stanley Cup

Montreal swept the Philadelphia Flyers 4-0 in the 1976 final. The Canadiens lost just one game in the entire playoffs as they kicked off their four-peat.

The 1977 Stanley Cup

The Canadiens defeated the Boston Bruins 4-0 in a dominant sweep in the 1977 final. Guy Lafleur led the playoffs in scoring as the Habs rolled to back-to-back Cups.

The 1978 Stanley Cup

Montreal beat Boston 4-2 in a rematch of the 1977 final. The Canadiens rallied from a 2-1 series deficit, winning games 5, 6 and 7 decisively to three-peat as champions.

The Last Hurrahs

The Canadiens dynasty years ended when the 1970s turned to the 1980s. But they managed to capture two more Stanley Cups before the decade was out.

In 1986, Montreal won its 23rd Cup powered by stars like Patrick Roy, Mats Naslund, Bobby Smith, Ryan Walter, Chris Chelios, and Claude Lemieux.

Their last championship came in 1993, when a team led by Patrick Roy, Vincent Damphousse, and Kirk Muller earned the Canadiens’ 24th and (to date) final Stanley Cup title.

The 1986 Stanley Cup

The Canadiens defeated the Calgary Flames 4-1 in the 1986 final. 20-year-old rookie Patrick Roy was stellar in net, winning the Conn Smythe trophy as playoff MVP.

The 1993 Stanley Cup

Montreal beat the L.A. Kings 4-1 in the 1993 final. John LeClair’s overtime winner in game 3 sparked the Canadiens to the Cup win.

Stanley Cup Championships by the Numbers

Let’s take a detailed numerical look at all 24 of the Canadiens’ Stanley Cup wins:

Year Opponent Result
1916 Portland Rosebuds Won 3–2
1924 Calgary Tigers Won 2–0
1925 Victoria Cougars Won 3–1
1930 Boston Bruins Won 2–0
1931 Chicago Black Hawks Won 3–2
1944 Chicago Black Hawks Won 4–0
1946 Boston Bruins Won 4–1
1953 Boston Bruins Won 4–1
1956 Detroit Red Wings Won 4–1
1957 Boston Bruins Won 4–1
1958 Boston Bruins Won 4–2
1959 Toronto Maple Leafs Won 4–1
1960 Toronto Maple Leafs Won 4–0
1965 Chicago Black Hawks Won 4–3
1966 Detroit Red Wings Won 4–2
1968 St. Louis Blues Won 4–0
1969 St. Louis Blues Won 4–0
1971 Chicago Black Hawks Won 4–3
1973 Chicago Black Hawks Won 4–2
1976 Philadelphia Flyers Won 4–0
1977 Boston Bruins Won 4–0
1978 Boston Bruins Won 4–2
1979 New York Rangers Won 4–1
1986 Calgary Flames Won 4–1
1993 Los Angeles Kings Won 4–1

As the above table illustrates, the Canadiens have won a whopping 24 Stanley Cup titles in their history. This includes 23 Cup wins since joining the NHL in 1917.

They won their Cups against a variety of opponents, including 13 wins against Original Six rivals Boston Bruins (8 times), Detroit Red Wings (twice), Chicago Blackhawks (twice), and Toronto Maple Leafs (once).

The Canadiens also defeated teams that joined the league in later expansion, such as the L.A. Kings, Calgary Flames, Philadelphia Flyers, St. Louis Blues, and New York Rangers.

No opponent has posed more of a Cup threat to Montreal over the years than the Boston Bruins, whom the Canadiens faced in the final 5 times, winning each matchup.


The Montreal Canadiens have an astounding 24 Stanley Cup wins in their 100+ year history, far more than any other NHL franchise. This includes 23 Cup titles since joining the NHL in 1917.

Their multiple dynasties and stacked rosters over the decades have made winning the ultimate prize a frequent occurrence. While other teams struggle to win just one Stanley Cup, the Canadiens have two dozen and counting.

With 24 banners hanging from the rafters at the Bell Centre, the storied history of Stanley Cup success in Montreal is unparalleled in hockey. The Canadiens set the standard for excellence in the NHL, and their 24 Stanley Cups are a testament to the team’s consistent greatness year after year.

Leave a Comment