How many T20 Cup has Australia won?

The ICC T20 World Cup is the international championship of Twenty20 International cricket. Organized by cricket’s governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), the tournament currently consists of 16 teams, comprising the top ten ICC full members and six other associate or affiliate members chosen through the ICC T20 World Cup Qualifier. Australia is one of the strongest teams in T20 cricket and has had a lot of success in the T20 World Cup tournament. In this article, we will look at how many T20 World Cups Australia has won.

History of the T20 World Cup

The ICC T20 World Cup was first played in 2007 in South Africa. It was the inaugural ICC T20 World Cup tournament. India won the first edition beating Pakistan in the final. Since 2007, the T20 World Cup has been played every 2 years except in 2009 when it was shifted to 2010. The tournament features the top T20 teams from around the world. The growth of franchise T20 leagues like the IPL has made T20 cricket extremely popular and the World Cup is the pinnacle of international T20 cricket.

Some key stats about the tournament:

Total T20 World Cups played 7
Year of first tournament 2007
Most successful team West Indies – 2 titles
Current champion Australia

The T20 format lasting around 3 hours is popular with fans as it promises explosive cricket with lots of big hitting. The T20 World Cup has seen some thrilling contests over the years and is one of the major events in the cricketing calendar.

Australia’s Performance in T20 World Cups

Australia is one of the top teams in international cricket across formats. When T20 cricket first started, Australia was a bit slow to embrace the format fully. They did not take part in the first few editions of the IPL. However, over the years, Australia has strengthened its T20 capabilities considerably.

In the 7 T20 World Cups held so far, Australia has made it to the semi-finals 5 times. This shows they have been one of the consistent teams in the tournament’s history.

Here is a quick overview of Australia’s performance in each edition of the T20 World Cup:

Year Stage Reached Result
2007 Semi-finals Lost to India
2009 Did not qualify
2010 Runners-up Lost to England in final
2012 Semi-finals Lost to West Indies
2014 Runners-up Lost to Sri Lanka in final
2016 Super 10s Failed to qualify for semi-finals
2021 Winners Defeated New Zealand in final

From the above table, we can see that Australia’s best performances have come in 2010, 2014 and 2021. They were runners-up in 2010 and 2014 before finally winning their first T20 World Cup title in 2021.

Australia’s T20 World Cup Wins

Based on the data above, Australia has won the T20 World Cup once in 2021. This was their maiden T20 World Cup trophy.

Some key facts about Australia’s victorious 2021 campaign:

  • The tournament was played in the UAE across 3 venues – Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah.
  • Australia was led by Aaron Finch and coached by Justin Langer.
  • In the group stage, Australia won 4 out of their 5 matches topping Group 1.
  • They beat Pakistan in the semi-final to qualify for the final.
  • In the final, Australia defeated New Zealand by 8 wickets with 7 balls remaining.
  • Mitchell Marsh scored an unbeaten 77 and was declared Man of the Match in the final.
  • David Warner with 289 runs finished as the third highest run scorer.

Winning the 2021 T20 World Cup was a huge achievement for Australia. T20 cricket was the one format where Australia had not tasted much success before. The World Cup win gave them confidence and they have continued their good performance by winning a T20 series against India and Sri Lanka after that.

So in summary, the answer to the question ‘How many T20 World Cups has Australia won?’ is 1. They won their first and only T20 World Cup in 2021 beating New Zealand in the final.

Other Key Teams in the T20 World Cup

While Australia has won 1 T20 World Cup, here is a quick look at the records of some other top teams:

Team T20 World Cup Wins
West Indies 2 (2012,2016)
India 1 (2007)
Pakistan 1 (2009)
England 1 (2010)
Sri Lanka 1 (2014)

West Indies has been the most successful team winning 2 titles in 2012 and 2016. Their squad is filled with some of the most explosive T20 batters and bowlers around the world due to the CPL. Other teams like India, Pakistan, England and Sri Lanka have won 1 title each over the years.

Australia will be keen to add to their single T20 World Cup win in the coming years. The next edition will be played in 2024 in the West Indies and US.

Key Players for Australia in T20 World Cups

Some of the standout players for Australia over the years in T20 World Cups have been:

  • David Warner: Leading run scorer for Australia with 638 runs from 31 matches. Was the player of the tournament in the 2021 edition.
  • Shane Watson: Scored 506 runs and took 20 wickets from 24 matches. He was man of the match in the 2010 final.
  • Glenn Maxwell: With his explosive batting, he has scored 352 runs from 26 matches at a strike rate of 156.
  • Mitchell Starc: Lethal with the new ball, he has taken 27 wickets, the most by an Australian.
  • Adam Zampa: Crafty leg-spinner who has 24 wickets from 17 matches.

These players have been the standout performers for Australia when it comes to the T20 World Cup. Players like Warner, Watson, Maxwell were instrumental in Australia’s title win in 2021.


In summary, Australia has won the T20 World Cup once in 2021 out of the 7 editions played so far. They defeated New Zealand comprehensively in the final to lift their first T20 World Cup trophy. Players like Warner, Marsh, Maxwell and Starc were key to their victory. Australia will be eager to defend their title in the next T20 World Cup scheduled to be held in 2024. With players like Warner, Maxwell, Starc, Cummins and Zampa in their side playing some explosive cricket, Australia will once again be one of the favourites to win the next edition of the T20 World Cup.

Leave a Comment