How many GCSEs do you normally do?

The typical number of GCSEs a student takes can vary quite a bit depending on the school and the ability of the student. However, most students in the UK take between 8 and 12 GCSE subjects.

Quick Answers

– The average number of GCSEs taken is between 8 and 10.
– Top students may take 12 or more GCSEs.
– Students who struggle academically may only take 8 or 9 GCSEs.
– English, maths and science are compulsory GCSE subjects.
– Most schools require students to take a humanities subject like history or geography.
– Students can choose optional GCSEs based on their interests and abilities.

Why Do Students Take GCSEs?

GCSEs (General Certificates of Secondary Education) are subject-specific qualifications taken by students aged 14-16 in secondary school in England, Wales, and Northern Ireland. GCSEs are a key part of the education system and serve several purposes:

  • They assess students’ knowledge and skills in core academic subjects at the end of compulsory education.
  • The grades earned can determine post-16 education options.
  • Good GCSE grades are required for further academic study including A-Levels.
  • Employers may ask for GCSE grades as part of the recruitment process.
  • They provide a uniform measure of student ability across schools.

In essence, GCSEs allow students to demonstrate subject mastery, provide qualifications for further study and employment, and enable comparisons of academic performance nationwide. Most students take them very seriously as they have a major influence on future education and career pathways.

Compulsory Core GCSE Subjects

While students at different schools may study slightly different combinations of GCSEs, there are three core subjects that are mandatory nationwide:

  • English Language and Literature – vital skills for education and employment.
  • Mathematics – essential numeracy and analytical abilities.
  • Combined Science or Individual Sciences – biology, chemistry, physics knowledge.

Students must continue studying these core subjects up to age 16 and attain GCSE qualifications in them. Most schools enter all students for exams in English, maths and science regardless of ability. These core GCSEs provide essential knowledge and skills for further study and work. Students wishing to attend university must achieve good grades (usually a grade 6 or above) in these subjects.

Common Additional GCSE Subjects

Alongside the mandatory core GCSEs in English, maths and science, students will take qualifications in 4-6 additional subjects. The most common ones are:

  • Humanities – History, Geography, Religious Studies
  • Languages – French, Spanish, German
  • Creative Arts – Art, Music, Drama
  • Technology – Design & Technology, Computer Science
  • Business – Business Studies, Economics

Most schools expect students to take at least one humanities subject as it provides important literacy, research and essay-writing skills. Studying a language and/or creative arts subject is also encouraged by many schools. The remaining choices allow students to take GCSEs matching their interests, abilities and future ambitions.

Optional GCSE Subjects

In addition to the subjects above, schools may offer other GCSE options based on staff expertise and student demand. Less common GCSE subjects can include:

  • Psychology
  • Sociology
  • Physical Education
  • Electronics
  • Statistics
  • Classical Civilization
  • Media Studies
  • Accounting

These optional GCSEs allow students to specialize in a particular field like social sciences, technology, or business. Taking one or two less common subjects can help students stand out when applying for further study courses or jobs related to those areas. However, most students focus on building a solid base of traditional academic GCSEs.

How Many GCSEs Should I Take?

The number of GCSEs a student takes depends on several factors:

  • School requirements – Some schools insist all students must take a minimum number of GCSEs (usually 10-12).
  • Ability – Very academic students are encouraged to take more GCSEs to stretch their capabilities.
  • Career goals – Certain A-level subjects or university courses require specific GCSEs.
  • Workload – Students should not take so many GCSEs that it becomes unmanageable.

On average, most students in the UK take between 8 and 10 GCSE subjects. The top students at very academic schools may take 12 or more. Meanwhile, less able students or those with special needs may only take 8 or 9 GCSEs in simpler subjects.

Taking 10 GCSEs is typically recommended to keep options open for further study. Core subjects (English, maths, science) plus a humanities, language, creative, and technology/business GCSE provides a solid foundation. More able students can then add further academic subjects or specialized options.

Choosing Your GCSE Subjects

When selecting your GCSE subjects, the following tips can help:

  • Take subjects you are good at and enjoy – you’ll achieve better results.
  • Check entry requirements for post-16 options like A-Levels, BTECs or apprenticeships.
  • Choose facilitating subjects like maths, English, sciences, languages, history, geography that keep university options open.
  • Consider your possible career goals and take relevant GCSEs – e.g business for management.
  • Don’t overload yourself – it’s better to get good grades in 8-10 subjects than take too many.
  • Talk to your teacher if unsure – they can advise suitable GCSE options.

Aim for between 8-10 GCSEs covering core subjects, humanities, languages, creative, technology and business. Pick your options based on ability and interests. Making strategic GCSE choices will pave the way for your preferred progression routes after age 16 – whether A-Levels, vocational courses or work.

Tiers and Grades in GCSE Subjects

Each GCSE subject is graded from 9 to 1, with 9 being the highest. In some subjects, students can take Higher (grades 9-4) or Foundation (grades 5-1) tier exams based on ability. For example:

Subject Tiers
English Foundation (grades 5-1) or Higher (grades 9-4)
Maths Foundation (grades 5-1) or Higher (grades 9-4)
Science Foundation (grades 5-1) or Higher (grades 9-4)
Geography Grades 9-1, no tiers
Business Studies Grades 9-1, no tiers

Studying and excelling at the Higher tier is important for students aiming at top grades and competitive university courses. GCSE results help determine A-Level, university, apprenticeship and job options after age 16.

When Are GCSE Exams Taken?

GCSE exams are taken at the end of Year 11 when students are aged 15/16. This is the culmination of two years of GCSE study from ages 14-16.

Here is a typical GCSE exam timetable:

  • May – June: Main exam period with most GCSE written exams taken.
  • March – June: Practical and oral language exams.
  • August: Results published for all GCSEs.
  • September: Any resit exams taken if needed.

Students in England and Wales sit GCSEs administered by exam boards like AQA, OCR, Edexcel and WJEC. Exam timetables are arranged by the boards.

GCSEs represent two yearlong courses of study. Teachers spend Year 10 and 11 teaching the syllabus content and preparing students thoroughly for the final exams. Excellent exam technique is emphasized, as final grades depend on performance in the exams.


In summary, most students in the UK take between 8 and 12 GCSE subjects. The core GCSEs studied by all students are English, maths and science. Humanities, languages, creative arts, technology and business GCSEs are popular additional choices allowing specialisation. Students should select GCSEs wisely to keep post-16 options open and match career aspirations. Taking around 10 GCSEs in a good mix of facilitating subjects is recommended. Grades impact future study routes, so GCSEs are taken seriously as pivotal qualifications at age 16 before specializing further through A-Levels, BTECs or apprenticeships.

Leave a Comment